Skip to main content

Qatar to be 'guest team' in European World Cup qualifiers

As a 'shadow' team in Group A, Qatar will play friendly games against whichever team has a free date on a given matchday
The move mirrors approach taken by France for 2016 European Championship they hosted (AFP/File photo)

Qatar will be included as a guest team in European World Cup qualifying Group A as part of their preparation for hosting the 2022 tournament, the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) has announced.

Qatar World Cup 2022: Five things you need to know about football's next big event
Read More »

As hosts, Qatar automatically qualifies for the 2022 World Cup and therefore has to rely on friendly games to get ready for the finals.

Stay informed with MEE's newsletters

Sign up to get the latest alerts, insights and analysis, starting with Turkey Unpacked


The UEFA on Tuesday said that Qatar has been placed as a "shadow" team in Group A, one of the five-team groups in UEFA's qualification process, and will play friendly games against whichever team has a free date on a given matchday, Reuters reported.

Group A includes Portugal, Serbia, Azerbaijan, Luxembourg and Ireland. The venue for Qatar's "home" fixtures has not been confirmed but they will play games in Europe.

The Qatar games will not count in any way towards the qualification process and would be categorised as friendly matches.

The move mirrors the approach taken by France for the 2016 European Championship that they hosted.

First-ever Arab World Cup

In addition to hosting the 2022 tournament, late last month FIFA announced plans to launch a new pan-Arab football tournament which is also set to be played in Qatar. 

FIFA announces pan-Arab national football tournament in Qatar
Read More »

The inaugural Arab World Cup will act as a test for Qatar's infrastructure and planning, 11 months before hosting football’s biggest global tournament. 

The tournament is slated to begin in December next year and will feature 22 national teams from the Middle East and North Africa. 

Algeria; Bahrain; Comoros; Djibouti; Egypt; Iraq; Jordan; Kuwait; Lebanon; Libya; Mauritania; Morocco; Oman; Palestine; Qatar; Saudi Arabia; Somalia; Sudan; Syria; Tunisia; the United Arab Emirates and Yemen were all confirmed to be taking part.

It will be the first major pan-Arab men’s football tournament since the Arab Nations Cup, which had been held on an irregular basis between 1963 and 2012.

The Gulf country already had a taste of hosting a major global tournament last December, when it hosted the 2019 FIFA Club World Cup - a tournament consisting of winners of club competitions from six different continents. 

Middle East Eye delivers independent and unrivalled coverage and analysis of the Middle East, North Africa and beyond. To learn more about republishing this content and the associated fees, please fill out this form. More about MEE can be found here.